BringChange2Mind

September 26, 2010

A funny thing happened on the way to Boston…

Filed under: Story — Tags: , , , — Jeremy @ 6:23 pm

Act as if what you do makes a difference.  It does.  ~William James

It happened a couple of weeks ago, but it’s an anecdote that’s been on my mind since.  It’s something I think I can easily relate back to Linea’s last post Community Engagement: How You Can Change A Mind, as well as the point of this post.  Personally, I was quite impressed with what I had seen.  Alright – you’re probably thinking “enough already, tell us what happened” – so I will…

About two weeks ago I was driving back to Boston from New York.  It was about 7:00pm so it was fairly dark out already – dark enough that you wouldn’t be able to see a car in your rearview mirror.  As I was driving along the highway a minivan quickly came up behind me and switched lanes.  The fact that they were going fast didn’t scare me (they were probably going 85 MPH), nor did the fact that they probably had kids in the car scare me (I mean, it was a minivan).  What scared me most was that they didn’t have their headlights on.

As quickly as I realized it, I started blinking my high beams at the car to no avail.  For one reason or another, they didn’t realize that they were practically driving blindly – not aware of what might lie ahead.  Thankfully the car directly ahead saw me frantically flashing my high beams and eventually realized why.  In turn, that car threw their hazard lights on as the minivan started passing to the left and, like teamwork, the driver of the minivan finally threw on their lights.

I’m not telling you this story because I wanted to talk about bad drivers, minivans, or headlights (I think that would be a pretty boring post).  I told this story because I think it’s closely related to what we at BringChange2Mind like to talk about – helping others in our community.

We sometimes forget what it means to help others.  It doesn’t always need to be an extravagant gesture, but can be things as simple as holding the door open for those behind you or helping an elderly person up some stairs.  No matter what the act is, you should always try to be there for those in need.

I’ll leave you with three things you should always try to remember:

  1. Care about others, no matter how close you are to them
  2. Be there for them night or day
  3. Have a willingness to help

You never know when your actions could mean more to that person than you thought.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

