BringChange2Mind

April 18, 2011

It’s Still a Shame

Filed under: Contributing Blogger — Tags: , , , , , , — Marc Peters @ 9:00 am

Last Friday, I had the rare opportunity for a class session with former

President Bill Clinton. (That’s one of the benefits of attending his graduate school I guess). Surprisingly it wasn’t that great a day. I was exhausted and detached for most of my four hour class that morning. My behavior was off enough for my classmates to inquire to see if I was okay. I’d been doing fairly well lately and working nonstop at school work so I figured I was just exhausted. It took until that evening when I could not get remotely excited for the presidential Q&A for me to realize that I was sliding into a mild depression. I even had a good question prepared. I was going to thank President Clinton for signing the first Mental Health Parity bill into law back in 96. Then refer to his famous (in the mental health community) quote on mental illness:

Mental illness is nothing to be ashamed of, but stigma and bias shame us all.

That is what he said after losing a close friend to suicide. He was right then and he was right now. I wanted to ask him whether he thought we had progressed much in the years since he made that profound statement and what more could we be doing.

What’s tragic is that our society has not come that far in the 10+ years since Clinton left office. The Mental Health Parity Act passed in 2008 made great strides in evening the health coverage playing field. I’m just not convinced that progress in policy have been accompanied by a change in the hearts and minds of everyday people. I have no doubt that things are better now than they were then. However, just because things are better today than they were yesterday doesn’t excuse us from working feverishly for a brighter tomorrow.

I still know people who are embarrassed to tell people when they are seeing a therapist or a psychiatrist. In our “lift yourselves up by your bootstraps” society, heaven forbid someone need to ask for help. I get emails often from people who feel more comfortable talking to me, a complete stranger, than they do their friends and family. Would the world be a better place if people chose help-seeking over isolation? Absolutely. Can we get there? I have no doubt. But we aren’t there yet.

If we are going to get there (wherever that is and whatever that means), we need to pay heed to the first half of Clinton’s quote. We need to realize that having a mental illness is nothing to be ashamed of. We cannot continue to cower anytime we admit that we’re feeling depressed or anxious or whatever the case may be.

Rather than feeling shame about being different, realize that there are a lot of people out there walking this walk with you. Rather than beat yourself up for what you can’t do, respect yourself for managing the challenges that you face on a day-to-day basis with courage and character. You have nothing to be ashamed of. Let me say that again- you have nothing to be ashamed of. Maybe it is a matter of us telling each other that a little more often.

For as outspoken as I am about living with bipolar disorder, that doesn’t mean I don’t sometimes feel shame for the way it makes me feel or act. We all need a reminder now and then of how much we are worth, how far we have come and how much more we can do.

2 Comments »

  1. Right you are! This is a beautifully written post. My son has finally found employment for the first time in eight years, and his biggest fear is that someone will find out he has been diagnosed with schizophrenia. Still, he has given his blessing to our memoir “Ben Behind His Voices” (pub. 9/16/11) despite his fears of being judged. Brave indeed – and wants to help others. What a kid. And Thanks to you sharing your experience. “Help-seeking over isolation” is a wonderful value. Oh, those bootstraps…

    Comment by Randye Kaye — April 18, 2011 @ 9:12 am

  2. I am about to “reveal” my illness to my classmates in my Public Speaking class in my local community college, from which I will graduate in May. I will also be revealing my illness to my instructor , whom I suspect already knows that I have an MI (bipolar I disorder). This close to the end of the semester, what are they going to do ? – kick me out ? – not let me graduate ? I’ve worked too hard for 2 years to mess up now – with a 3.824 GPA. I’m applying all over the place for employment ( no real offers yet), was terminated from my last employer because I didn’t have enough energy to get out of bed to call in sick. I f potential employers know this will anybody hire me ?

    Comment by Jeff — April 18, 2011 @ 9:57 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

